Follow Us

Minor hockey players join festivities


contacts-zones8X10We look forward to involving Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association players in Telus Cup West pre-game festivities.

Tyson Newell, a Grade 8 student at St. John School, will perform the ceremonial face-off at the opening ceremonies (7:15 p.m. Thursday). He is the captain of his Kinsmen Hockey League team and has benefitted from Telus Cup West already. All KHL players received new helmets this year as a legacy donation of $10,000 from the host committee via tournament ticket sales and sponsorships.

In addition to Tyson’s participation, minor hockey players from SMHA zones will line up with the teams throughout the tournament. Here’s the list of participants:

Game 1: 4 p.m.
Saskatchewan vs. Manitoba
Aces zone – Will Thomas and Alexander Thomas

Game 2: 7:30 p.m.
Saskatoon Contacts vs. Northwestern Ontario
Wild Zone – Madyson Brown and Hannah Harmon

Game 3: 4 p.m.
Northwestern Ontario vs. Manitoba
Renegades zone – Joshua Cameron and Rory Logan

Game 4: 7:30 p.m.
Saskatchewan vs. Saskatoon Contacts
Redwings zone – Drew Walters and Logan Babey

Game 5: noon
Northwestern Ontario vs. Saskatchewan
Bobcats zone – Easton Brown and Noah Mitchell

Game 6: 3:30 p.m.
Saskatoon Contacts vs. Manitoba
Flyers zone – Teegan Horbach and Jack Holzman

Game 7: 2 p.m.
Championship Final
Comets zone – Sage Babey and Gabrielle Zaleschuk

** All games at Rod Hamm Memorial Arena, 1347 Fletcher Road

PHOTO: Members of the Saskatoon Contacts paid tribute to their Saskatoon Minor Hockey Association zones at the end of the regular season by wearing their zone jerseys in warm-up. (TERRY ALLINGTON PHOTO)